The Open 2017

The UK’s longest-running and most prestigious artists’ collective is delighted to announce its 83rd Open Exhibition.

Photos from the show,the prize winners, the artsist talks and PVs here on flickr

The Catalog from the Open is available for download

 In recognition of today’s increasingly diversified art scene, The London Group Open welcomes innovative, challenging works in any medium, including painting, sculpture, drawing, print, photography, digital, audio, mixed media, installation, video and performance. Successful entrants to this year’s Open will see their work hung in one of two exhibitions staged during November and December 2017 at The Cello Factory.

Part 1: 8 – 17 Nov

Part 2: 22 Nov – 1 Dec

The Cello Factory, 33-34 Cornwall Road
London SE1 8TJ, 2pm – 6pm daily

Prizes – which collectively total over £8000 – will be awarded to non-members and include

  • The President’s Prize of a three-person show at The Cello Factory
  • A new prize – The Victor Kuell Memorial Prize for innovation, for £1500
  • The Jeff Lowe Sculpture Prize, for £1000
  • The Chelsea Arts Club Trust Stan Smith Award for research and materials for an artist under 35, for £750
  • The Worshipful Company of Painter-Stainers Prize for drawing, for £300
  • Another new prize – the Schauerman Prize for Digital Art, for £500. Selected by Group members’ Genetic Moo, co-curators of The Mesh, currently on show at Watermans Art Centre.
  • Just announced, the JPES Partnership Prize, for £1000

The 83rd London Group Open reflects today’s increasingly diversified art scene. The exhibition will feature works in a large range of mediums, including painting, sculpture, drawing, print, photography, digital, mixed media, installation, video and an audio artwork. “We are very excited to have had a send-in that is truly international with artists from 27 countries. The Selection Committee had a very rewarding time viewing all the works and they are proud that the resulting exhibition will present an enticing breadth of work, including a good number of videos, in all, promising to be thoroughly lively and challenging.” Susan Haire, President

A selection of generous awards will be presented including The President’s Prize of a three-person exhibition at The Cello Factory; £1500 Victor Kuell Memorial Prize for Innovation; £1000 Sculpture Prize awarded by Jeff Lowe; £750 Chelsea Arts Club Trust Stan Smith Award for Research and Materials for an Artist under 35; £1000 JPES Partnership Prize; the £500 Schauerman Prize for Digital Art; £300 Worshipful Company of Painter-Stainers Prize for Drawing.

Part 1:

Jonathan Alibone, Belinda Bailey, Rosalind Barker, Maria Bouquet, Day Bowman, Anita Bryan, Stephen Calcutt, Adrienne Cameron, Stephen Carley, Tom Cartmill, Michael Coombs, Shona Davies, Dave Monaghan and Jon Klein, Richard Dickson, Jo Evans, Jane Eyton, Garry Flinders, Chloe Fremantle, Nicholas Gentilli, Lyndsey Gilmour, David Gould, Ashley Greaves, Gudrun Sigridur Haraldsdottir, Joshua Hilton, Beverley Isaacs, Aubrey Laret, Jockel Liess, Rebekah Miller, Blake O’Donnell, Sarah Pager, Sumi Perera, Angela Smith, Louise Whittles, Emma Witter, Eleanor Wood, LJ Wright.

Part 2:

Susan Absolon, Art Venti, Jackie Berridge, Jo Brown, Stephen Buckeridge, Sara Choudhrey, Liz Collini, Richard Colson, Tim Cousins, Peggy Cozzi, Brian Deighton, Belinda Ellis, Zac Endter, Kira Enriquez, Gethin Evans, Paul Finn, Steph Goodger, Alexandra Harley, Lesley Hilling, Marigold Hodgkinson, Kaori Homma, Jane Hoodless, Marion Jones, Hywel Livingstone, Michael Major, Kieran Naish, Natalia Nosova, Paul Regan, Petra Regent, Amelia Kate Sampson, Lisa Traxler, Patricia Volk, Marta Wapiennik, Mandy Williams.

Video works will be shown in both parts:

Sandra Crisp, Annie Cunningham, Samantha Heydt, Emma Liebeskind, Christopher Madden, Gloria King Merritt, Dominic Negus, Micheál O’Connell aka MOCKSIM, Nikita Russi, Katy Shepherd.

The following London Group members will also be showing:

Moich Abrahams, Wendy Anderson, Victoria Bartlett, Bryan Benge, Slawomir Blatton, Frank Bowling OBE RA, Clive Burton, Robert Clarke, Peter Clossick, Tim Craven, John Crossley, Philip Crozier, Jeff Dellow, Mark Dickens, Mark Dunford, Anthony Eyton RA, James Faure Walker, Eric Fong, Cadi Froehlich, Marenka Gabeler, Genetic Moo, Tricia Gillman, Vaughan Grylls, Susan Haire, Julie Held, Bill Henderson, Aude Hérail Jäger, Martin Heron, John Holden, Gillian Ingham, Samantha Jarman, Annie Johns, Judith Jones, Richard Kemp, Matthew Kolakowski, Amanda Loomes, Jeff Lowe, Graham Mileson, Eric Moody, C. Morey de Morand, Peter Morrell, Charlotte C Mortensson, Kathleen Mullaniff, Janet Nathan, Darren Nisbett, Eugene Palmer, Ian Parker, Claire Parrish, Janet Patterson, Michael Phillipson, Christopher Poulton, Daniel Preece, Alex Ramsay, Victoria Rance, David Redfern, Tom Scase, Tommy Seaward, David Shutt, Philippa Stjernsward, Suzan Swale, Paul Tecklenberg, Almuth Tebbenhoff, David Tebbs, David Theobald, Mike Thorpe, Philippa Tunstill, Bill Watson, Tisna Westerhof, Neil Weerdmeester, Anthony Whishaw RA, Arthur Wilson, Susan Wilson, Erika Winstone, David Wiseman.


The London Group Open  – Exhibiting artists

The London Group Open – Prize winners