

The London Group Open 2017

Part One: 8 - 17 November 2017

Part Two: 22 November - 1 December 2017

The Cello Factory 33-34 Cornwall Road, London SE1 8TJ 2pm - 6pm daily



LJ Wright, Folk Art in an Age of Digital Reproduction part 1: TV; Peggy Cozzi, Shifting Sands; Patricia Volk, Cairn

The UK's longest-running and most prestigious artists' collective, **The London Group**, is delighted to announce the artists selected from open call, to exhibit alongside its members, in the 83rd London Group Open.

The exhibition is a wonderful opportunity for the selected artists to raise their profile, win cash and material prizes, and exhibit their work to the public alongside the Group's esteemed members. From a wide range of submissions, The London Group Selection Committee – which consists of existing members – carefully selected 79 artists to each exhibit a work across two exhibitions at **The Cello Factory**, London from **8 – 17 November 2017** and **22 November – 1 December 2017**.

Part 1: 8 - 17 November 2017

Jonathan Alibone	Belinda Bailey	Rosalind Barker
Maria Bouquet	Day Bowman	Anita Bryan
Stephen Calcutt	Adrienne Cameron	Stephen Carley
Tom Cartmill	Michael Coombs	Shona Davies, Dave
		Monaghan and Jon Klein
Richard Dickson	Jo Evans	Jane Eyton
Garry Flinders	Chloe Fremantle	Nicholas Gentilli
Lyndsey Gilmour	David Gould	Ashley Greaves
Gudrun Sigridur Haraldsdottir	Joshua Hilton	Beverley Isaacs
Aubrey Laret	Jockel Liess	Rebekah Miller
Blake O'Donnell	Sarah Pager	Sumi Perera
Angela Smith	Louise Whittles	Emma Witter
Eleanor Wood	LJ Wright	

Part 2: 22 November – 1 December 2017

Susan Absolon Jo Brown Jackie Berridge Sara Choudhrey Stephen Buckeridge Liz Collini Richard Colson Tim Cousins Peggy Cozzi Brian Deighton Belinda Ellis Zac Endter Kira Kalondy Gethin Evans Paul Finn Steph Goodger Alexandra Harley Lesley Hilling Marigold Hodgkinson Kaori Homma Jane Hoodless Marion Jones Hywel Livingstone Michael Major Kieran Naish Natalia Nosova Paul Regan Petra Regent Amelia Kate Sampson Lisa Traxler Art Venti Patricia Volk Marta Wapiennik

Mandy Williams

Video works by the following artists will be shown in both exhibitions:

Sandra Crisp Annie Cunningham Samantha Heydt Emma Liebeskind Christopher Madden Gloria Merritt Dominic Negus Micheál O'Connell aka Nikita Russi

Mocksim

Katy Shepherd

In recognition of today's increasingly diversified art scene, the exhibition will feature works in a large range of mediums, including painting, sculpture, drawing, print, photography, digital, mixed media, installation, video and an audio artwork.

"We are very excited to have had a send-in that is truly international with artists from 27 countries. The Selection Committee had a very rewarding time viewing all the works and they are proud that the resulting exhibition will present an enticing breadth of work, including a good number of videos, in all, promising to be thoroughly lively and challenging." Susan Haire, President

A selection of generous awards will be presented including The President's Prize of a three-person exhibition at The Cello Factory; £1500 Victor Kuell Memorial Prize for Innovation; £1000 Sculpture Prize awarded by Jeff Lowe; £750 Chelsea Arts Club Trust Stan Smith Award for Research and Materials for an Artist under 35; £1000 JPES Partnership Prize; the £500 Schauerman Prize for Digital Art; £300 Worshipful Company of Painter-Stainers Prize for Drawing.

Two artists' talks with a number of the exhibiting artists will take place on Monday 13th November and Friday 1st December 2017. For further details please visit: www.thelondongroup.com

-Ends-

NOTES TO EDITORS:

The London Group members exhibiting this year are:

Moich AbrahamsWendy AndersonVictoria BartlettBryan BengeSlawomir BlattonFrank Bowling OBE RAClive BurtonRobert ClarkePeter ClossickTim CravenJohn CrossleyPhilip Crozier

Jeff Dellow
Anthony Eyton RA
Cadi Froehlich
Tricia Gillman
Julie Held
Martin Heron
Samantha Jarman
Richard Kemp
Jeff Lowe

C. Morey de Morand Kathleen Mullaniff Eugene Palmer Janet Patterson Daniel Preece David Redfern

David Shutt
Paul Tecklenberg
David Theobald
Bill Watson

Anthony Whishaw RA Erika Winstone

Mark Dickens
James Faure Walker
Marenka Gabeler
Vaughan Grylls
Bill Henderson
John Holden
Annie Johns

Matthew Kolakowski Graham Mileson Peter Morrell Janet Nathan Ian Parker

Michael Phillipson Alex Ramsay Tom Scase

Philippa Stjernsward Almuth Tebbenhoff Mike Thorpe Tisna Westerhof Arthur Wilson David Wiseman Mark Dunford
Eric Fong
Genetic Moo
Susan Haire
Aude Hérail Jäger
Gillian Ingham
Judith Jones
Amanda Loomes
Eric Moody

Charlotte C Mortensson

Darren Nisbett
Claire Parrish
Christopher Poulton
Victoria Rance
Tommy Seaward
Suzan Swale
David Tebbs
Philippa Tunstill
Neil Weerdmeester
Susan Wilson

The London Group was formed in 1913 by thirty-two artists from The Camden Town Group and English Vorticists, including Jacob Epstein, Wyndham Lewis, and Walter Sickert, with the aim of creating an independent artist-led exhibiting body to counterbalance the power of institutions such as the Royal Academy. Since its foundation, the organisation has been an integral force in the growing and supporting of diverse and emerging artistic talent across Britain. The group's mentoring and exhibiting programme has gone on to support the careers of many of Britain's best-known artists. Frank Auerbach, Frank Bowling, Mary Fedden, Barbara Hepworth, David Hockney, L.S. Lowry, Henry Moore and Graham Sutherland are among those who have benefitted from membership to The London Group throughout their careers. www.thelondongroup.com

The Cello Factory has been The London Group's exhibiting base since 2009. It is a stunning double-height gallery in central London with copious natural light and a blacked-out video space. As well as having numerous London Group shows it has a very busy UK and international exhibiting programme. The Cello Factory is also a popular venue for concerts, particularly in showcasing young musicians, and it has been the home of the London Ear Festival of contemporary music since its inception in 2013. It is located paces from Waterloo Station.

For further details and images please contact Iona Rowland at Parker Harris on: Tel. 01372 462190 Email: iona@parkerharris.co.uk











