



The Cello Factory 33 - 34 Cornwall Road Waterloo, SE1 8TJ Open daily 2 - 6pm

Part 1: 20 - 29 Nov Part 2: 4 - 13 Dec

Artist Talks 29 Nov and 13 Dec 6.30 - 8.30pm













The London Group Open 2019: Exhibitors Announced

Exhibition Part I: 20 – 29 November Exhibition Part II: 4 – 13 December



Barbara Nati, Shooting clouds. Stratocumulus

The UK's longest-running and most prestigious artists' co-operative, The London Group, is delighted to announce both the member and the selected exhibitors for its 84th open exhibition.

The London Group Open 2019 offers a wonderful opportunity for emerging and established artists to raise their profile, win cash prizes, and exhibit their work alongside the Group's esteemed members. **No commission will be charged on any works sold during the 2019 exhibition** in line with the Group's commitment to give artists 'a boost in a tough career, thereby nurturing and supporting the development of the art of the future'. (Susan Haire, President).

The Members of The London Group who will be exhibiting this year are as follows:

PART I

Victoria Bartlett, Stephen Carley, John Crossley, Philip Crozier, Jeff Dellow, Angela Eames, James Faure Walker, Tricia Gillman, Vaughan Grylls, Susan Haire, Julie Held, Bill Henderson, Gillian Ingham, Janet Nathan, Micheál O'Connell, Ian Parker, Claire Parrish, Janet Patterson, Sumi Perera, Michael Phillipson, Alexander Ramsay, David Redfern, Tommy Seaward, Philippa Stjernsward, Srinivas Surti, David Theobald, Philippa Tunstill, Neil Weerdmeester, Anthony Whishaw, Erika Winstone, David Wiseman, Carol Wyss

PART II

Moich Abrahams, Wendy Anderson, Bryan Benge, Slawomir Blatton, Clive Burton, Peter Clossick, Tim Craven, Sandra Crisp, Mark Dickens, Eric Fong, Cadi Froehlich, Alexandra Harley, Martin Heron, Aude Hérail Jäger, Alexander Hinks, Annie Johns, Jockel Liess, Amanda Loomes, Jeff Lowe, Graham Mileson, Genetic Moo, C Morey De Morand, Charlotte C Mortensson, Kathleen Mullaniff, Darren Nisbett, Eugene Palmer, Tom Scase, Suzan Swale, Almuth Tebbenhoff, David Tebbs, Paul Tecklenberg, Bill Watson, Tisna Westerhof, Susan Wilson

The artists selected to exhibit as part of The London Group Open 2019 are as follows:

PART I

Galina Agafonova, Belinda Bailey, Paul Bonomini, Amelia Bowles, Simon Chalmers, Zihan Chen, Dominique Croshaw, Martin Darbyshire, Freddie Darke, Daniel Davidsson, Robert Davies, Nigel Dawes, Ozlem Demirel, Beverley Duckworth, Chloe Fremantle, Ann Grim, Chris Horner, Debbie Lee, Rosie Leventon, Duncan Mckellar, Eugene Macki, Bethany Marett, Maya Ramsay, Amber Roper, Gail Seres-Woolfson, Katy Shepherd, Linda Simon, Hanna ten Doornkaat, Alexander Vorobyev, Ariella Wertheimer, Eleanor Wood, Natalia Zagorska-Thomas, Jingbo Zou

PART II

David Aston, Adam Atraktzi, Simon Brewster, Anita Bryan, Stephen Buckeridge, Gill Capewell, Sayan Chanda, Emma Elliott, Tomas Fernandez Vertiz, Jill Gibson, Josh Grey-Jung, Shir Handelsman, Christopher Harris, Samantha Heydt, Lesley Hilling, Chirag Jindal, Marion Jones, Ann Kim, Izabela Kowalczyk, Constanze Kratzsch, Sarah Leahy, J. (Jie) Li, Christopher Madden, Ana Mendes, Barbara Nati, Richard Paton, Maybelle Peters, Rob Reed, Julia Remizova, Ana Schmidt, Sam Shendi, Seamus Staunton, Lisa Traxler RWS MRSS, Tom Waugh, Angela Wright

'Having been on the Open Selection Committee since 2007 I am always fascinated to review the staggering range of work being produced by our fellow art workers and to show alongside them. I see it as an education; informing and enriching me personally as regards current practice.'

David Redfern

Prizes – which collectively total over £9,000 – will be awarded to non-members and include The President's Prize of a three-person exhibition at The Cello Factory; the Ingram Collection Purchase Prize, worth £2,000; the Victor Kuell Memorial Prize for innovation, worth £1,000; the Sculpture Prize awarded by Jeff Lowe, worth £1,000; the JPES Partnership Prize, worth £1,000; the Felix and Spear Exhibition Prize; the Chelsea Arts Club Trust Stan Smith Award for research and materials for an artist under 35, worth £750; the Schauerman Digital Art Prize, worth £500;

and the Artlyst Prize, worth £500. All non-members will be eligible for prizes.

For press enquiries, please contact Emma Walker at Parker Harris:

Tel: 020 3653 0896

Email: emmaw@parkerharris.co.uk

- Ends -

Notes to Editors

The London Group was formed in 1913 by thirty-two artists from the Camden Town Group and English Vorticists, including Jacob Epstein, Wyndham Lewis and Walter Sickert, with the aim of creating an independent artist-led exhibiting body to counterbalance the power of institutions such as the Royal Academy. Since its foundation, the organisation has been an integral force in contributing to diverse and emerging artistic talent across Britain. The Group's mentoring and exhibiting programme has gone on to support the careers of many of Britain's best-known artists. Paula Rego, Frank Bowling, Frank Auerbach, Barbara Hepworth, David Hockney, L.S. Lowry, Henry Moore, Graham Sutherland and Mary Fedden are among those who have benefitted from membership to the London Group throughout their careers.

The Cello Factory has been the London Group's exhibiting base for ten years. It is a stunning double-height gallery in central London with copious natural light and a blacked-out video space. As well as having numerous London Group shows it has a very busy UK and international exhibiting programme. The Cello Factory is also a popular venue for concerts, particularly those that showcase young musicians, and it is home to the London Ear Festival of contemporary music. It is located paces from Waterloo Station.